Nina  Moreno-Don't Date Rosa Santos

Nina Moreno

Bio

Nina Moreno is a YA writer whose writing is somewhere between Southern fiction and a telenovela. She graduated from the University of Florida and writes about Latinas chasing their dreams, falling in love, and navigating life in the hyphen. She lives by a swamp outside of Orlando where she enjoys listening to carefully curated playlists, hunting through thrift stores, drinking too much Cuban coffee, and walking into the sea every chance she gets. DON’T DATE ROSA SANTOS is her first novel.

Sessions

Three Little Words

Fans of Rom-Com will fall head over heels for three stories of young women navigating life and love. In Symptoms of a Heartbreak by Sona Charaipotra, Doogie Howser meets Fault in Their Stars when a teen doctor develops feelings for a boy she is treating. A girl with a fear of the ocean falls for a boy with a boat in Nina Moreno's debut Don't Date Rosa Santos. Lauren Morrill's Better Than the Best Plan tells the story of a teen in foster care falling for the boy next door while finding family.


Moderator Mayra Cuevas

Born and raised in Puerto Rico, Mayra Cuevas is a professional journalist and fiction writer who prefers love stories with a happy ending. Her debut fiction short story was selected by author Becky Albertalli to appear in the Foreshadow YA serial anthology in 2019. She is currently a special projects producer for CNN. She keeps her sanity by practicing Buddhist meditation and serving on the Board of Directors of Kadampa Meditation Center Georgia. She lives with her husband, also a CNN journalist, and their cat, in the charming town of Norcross, Ga. Mayra Cuevas’s YA #OwnVoices debut SALTY, BITTER, SWEET will release on March 2020.

  • YA Stage
  • Sat 4:15-5:00 YA

Don't Date Rosa Santos

For fans of GILMORE GIRLS and TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE, this effervescent love story from debut author Nina Moreno will sweep you away.

Rosa Santos is cursed by the sea—at least, that’s what they say. Dating her is bad news, especially if you’re a boy with a boat.

But Rosa feels more caught than cursed. Caught between cultures and choices. Between her abuela, a beloved healer and pillar of their community, and her mother, an artist who crashes in and out of her life like a hurricane. Between Port Coral, the quirky South Florida town they call home, and Cuba, the island her abuela refuses to talk about.

As her college decision looms, Rosa collides—literally—with Alex Aquino, the mysterious boy with tattoos of the ocean whose family owns the marina. With her heart, her family, and her future on the line, can Rosa break a curse and find her place beyond the horizon?

Our website uses cookies to collect information about how you interact with our website. By using this website, you agree to let us use cookies. For more information see our Privacy Policy. Got It